My husband and I have been married for the past 6 years and we decided to add a new member to our family. I waited for so many years because I wanted to be completely prepared mentally for motherhood, as it is a huge life changing event. I know no one can be completely ready for parenthood, but I did not want to jump into this whirlpool without atleast some kind of preparation financially and mentally. My husband loves kids and always wanted to be a father, so he had left the decision completely on me.
So after trying to conceive for almost 5 months, and obsessing over every new symptom and spending half of my time on Babycenter, I finally got a big fat positive on the pregnancy test. It was September 14th I guess and I was laying on my bed with pretty bad period cramps. It was 2 days before my actual period. I got up to take a pain killer as the pain was too much, but something told me to first test. I peed on the stick and left it on the sink and was washing my hands. I was pretty sure it would be another negative. I simply glanced on the test and i was shocked. There were 2 dark lines.
I couldn't believe it. I thought the kit was faulty, but the second line was unmistakabe. I was equally excited and scared. My husband had gone out at that time and he took forever to come back. I showed him the test and he was completely over the moon.
I still couldn't believe I was pregnant. I tested for 3 consecutive days, just to be sure. We didnt tell about the pregnancy to everyone right away, because we wanted to savour the moment just between us for a while. It was a beautiful secret that I was carrying with me and it made me giddy with excitement.
After about a week of finding out and scheduling an appointment with my Obgyn, I first broke the news to my parents and to my inlaws. I decided to wait for the first trimester to be over to share the news with other family and friends.
I have been really lucky to have conceived so early and so easily and I am forever grateful for that.
Comments
Post a Comment